What happens if I delete an Auto Scale server through the API or the Cloud Control Panel?


Auto Scale currently does not track what happens to servers outside of the Auto Scale system. If a server is deleted outside of the system, Auto Scale will continue to treat the server as if it still exists. If you then try to delete the server through Auto Scale (for example, by scaling down), no problems should occur.

A new API endpoint has been added to Auto Scale, DELETE server, that allows you to remove a specific server from a scaling group. You can use this endpoint to bring Auto Scale back in sync with the correct number of servers in a group when a server has been deleted through the API or the Cloud Control Panel. For more information, see the Rackspace Auto Scale Developer's Guide Delete server from scaling group section.



Was this content helpful?




© 2011-2013 Rackspace US, Inc.

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License


See license specifics and DISCLAIMER