Rackspace Cloud Backup - Backup Actions


Getting Started with Rackspace Cloud Backup - Part 4

How to Use Backup Actions

You may do several actions with a single Backup. This page describes them.

You can access the Backup Actions drop-down menu in two ways: 1) from the gear widget next to the Backup name on the Backups List; and 2) from the "Actions" button on the Backup Details Screen.

The Backup Actions drop-down menu offers the following actions:

 

Perform Backup

When you click Perform Backup, you trigger a manual backup on your System, based on the configurations you currently have set. If you are looking at the Backup Activity screen, the backup progress bar displays until the backup is completed.

Backup Progress

 

Restore Backup

The Restore Backup action kicks off the Restore action.

  1. Click the name of the Backup to Restore from.
    To cancel the Restore, click Cancel.

Restore - Select Backup

  1. Click the Restore Point (date) to restore from.
    You may go back to the Select Backup screen by clicking the Back button.
    To cancel the Restore, click Cancel.

Restore - Select Restore Point

  1. Click the System to Restore to.
  • You may limit the Systems List by using the Search box.
  • You may restore your Backup to the System that was backed up, or to another System.
  • You may go back to the Select Restore Point screen by clicking the Back button.
  • To cancel the Restore, click Cancel.

Restore - Select Destination System

  1. Select the Files to restore by clicking the folder name to view its files. Check the boxes of the files and folders you want to restore; you can move through your folders by clicking Up or an individual folder name at top of the file or folder list.
  • After you've selected your files, you can confirm your selection by clicking the Selected and Excluded Items tab. A list files included in the restore and specifically excluded are listed.
  • When you are satisfied with your selection, click the Next button. You may also go back a screen to change your settings by clicking the Back button.
  • To cancel the Restore, click Cancel.
  1. Click the check boxes to confirm whether you would like to Overwrite files with the same name or restore the files to their original folders and click the Next button.

Restore - Overwrite Files

  1. Confirm your Restore Settings and click the Start Restore button.
  • The Single Backup screen displays and shows the progress of your Restore.

    You may limit the Systems List by using the Search box.
    You may go back to the Select Restore Point screen by clicking the Back button.
    To cancel the Restore, click Cancel.

 

Configure Backup

You may change the name, recurrence,and notifications for your Backup job. Click Configure Backup from the Backup Actions drop-down to view these settings.

  1. Enter a name for your Backup job, and under Scheduling, select how often you'd like to run the backup.
    • Manually -- Whenever you click a button to backup
    • Hourly -- Every one hour, two hours, three hours, etc.
    • Daily -- Every day at a given time. Times are in Central Time.
    • Weekly -- Select a day of the week and time on that day. Times are in Central Time

    Select how long you want to keep your backups (30 days / 60 days / indefinitely). Lastly, select how you would like to be notified about your backup jobs.

  •  
    Scheduling and De-Duplication: Feel free to schedule your backups for as often as you expect your files to change. Rackspace Cloud Backup uses block-level de-duplication, which means we only save those parts of a file that have changed. In this way, a unique piece of data is saved only once, which maximizes the effectiveness of the backup, while minimizing your storage overhead. Another benefit is that by using this method, you can retrieve previous versions of files, up to the limits specified by the customer-defined retention settings.

    De-duplication also gives you flexibility because we only save the changed portions of files. You can then restore to any point in time you like. Also, the changed portions are smaller in size than in standard backup systems and overall they make for faster backups and restores.

    To save on additional overhead, we may then compress the files if it reduces the size of the block. You can expect compression rates equivalent to those of gzip.

    You should not try to manually compress or encrypt your data before running backups, as our de-duplication will not work; you will create larger backups than you need. If you want to encrypt your backups, see the section on Encrypting your System in this guide.

    For advanced Linux users, if you create tarballs with gzip that will get backed up, be sure to use gzip's --rsyncable option as this allows RCBU to de-dupe those files as well.
  1. When you are satisfied with your settings, click Save Changes.

Backup Configuration

 

Configure Files for Backup

You may change which files and folders are saved in your Backup. Click Configure Files to view these settings.

  1. Select the Files to Restore by clicking the folder name to view which files are inside. Check the boxes of the files and folders you want to restore; you can move through your folders by clicking Up or an individual folder name at top fo the file or folder list.
  2. After you've selected your files, you can confirm your selection by clicking the Selected and Excluded Items tab. A list files included in the restore and specifically excluded are listed.
  3. When you are satisfied with your selection, click the Save Changes button.

 

Disable Backup

You may prevent your Backup from running by clicking the Disable Backup button.

When you Disable your Backup:

  • The Backup Status light changes from Active to Disabled
  • The Perform Backup button becomes inoperable.

To Re-Enable your Backup, click the Backup's Actions button and select Enable Backup. Your Backup returns to Active status with all its previous settings.

 

Delete Backup

You may Delete your Backup by selecting Delete Backup from the Backup Actions drop-down menu.

  • A pop-up screen displays asking your confirm that you want to Delete the Backup.
  • When the Backup is Deleted, it cannot be recovered.


Was this content helpful?




© 2014 Rackspace US, Inc.

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License


See license specifics and DISCLAIMER