Managing your server: deleting your Cloud Server


When you are done using your server and are ready to delete it, you can do this through the Cloud Control Panel.  If you have already saved a backup image of your server you can use that image to create a new server at a future time.  That server will be an exact clone of your current server at the time the backup image was saved, only it will have a different IP address.

  • To delete the server, click its gear menu and choose Delete Server.

  • You will be asked for confirmation before the server and its data are deleted forever. 
  • All together, these administration tips and tools will allow you total control over your server, as well as provide some great troubleshooting resources.  Next we are going to learn how to build and configure a Cloud Load Balancer for directing traffic to multiple servers in a high availability solution.  You can watch a 3-part video series (OverviewCreating a Load BalancerDetailed Configuration) to learn more about Cloud Load Balancers, or you can read the article for detailed instructions. 

 

 

On to Next Article - Configuring a Cloud Load Balancer

Back to Managing Your Server Top Page

Back to the First 48 Guide



Was this content helpful?




© 2014 Rackspace US, Inc.

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License


See license specifics and DISCLAIMER