Advanced Server Backup Configuration

Rackspace Server Backup is powered by Jungle Disk, a sister division within Rackspace. Instructions and links may direct you to the Jungle Disk Account Manager and file download pages. Improvements in integration will be made with future releases. Rackspace Server Backup as a standalone product is sold by Jungle Disk as the “Server Edition.”

To adjust advanced configuration options, log into the Jungle Disk Server Edition Management tool with your account credentials. These are not the same as your Control Panel admin ID and password. To access your Server Backup credentials, log into the Control Panel, and perform the following steps:

  1. Mouse over the Go to section drop-down menu and select Cloud Drive and Server Backup.
     
    Cloud drive and server backup tab highlighted.
  2. Use the Admin username and Generated Password to log into the Server Edition Management client.

After logging into the Server Edition Management tool, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the Configure button.
  2. Select the Show Advanced Options check box to show all sections.
  3. Select a section. Each section and the options available are listed below.
     
    Configuration sections.

Application Settings

The application settings apply to the entire application, across all online disks and backup jobs for the associated server.

  • Show Application In—(Mac only) Select where the application will be viewed/accessible.
  • Keep Activity Log—Select the length of time the activity log is kept.
  • Cache Directory—Select the path where recently accessed files can be stored for faster file access.
  • Remove Configuration—Click this button to clear the configuration and initiate the first time setup wizard.
  • Check for Updates Automatically—Select the check box to automatically check for software updates.
  • Download and Install Updates Automatically—Select the check box to automatically install updates.

Jungle Disk Account
 

  •  License Key—Displays the license key that is currently associated with the Server Edition installation.
  • Amazon S3 Accounts—This area allows you to configure the personal Amazon S3 accounts that are connected with your installation of Jungle Disk Desktop Edition.
  • Remove Configuration—This option clears the configuration to allow you to initiate the first time setup wizard.

Network Settings

The network settings options control all network connections made by the Jungle Disk Server Edition software. The application makes only outgoing TCP connections to ports 80 and 443.

  • Connect using SSL (encrypts all network traffic)—Select the check box to protect and encrypt your data while it is in transit between your computer and the cloud storage servers.  This does not apply to the actual encryption of the file once it reaches its final destination.
  • Optimize performance for high bandwidth connections—Select the check box to enable large TCP window sizes. This MAY increase performance if you have greater than 2 Mbps upstream bandwidth.  You should NOT select it on slower connections as it may reduce performance.
  • Use Service Net for Connection to Cloud Files—Select the check box if you are a customer located in Rackspace datacenters with access to Service Net and you would prefer to connect to Cloud Files via Service Net instead of your public network interface.
  • Proxy Server Configuration Options:

    Connect via an HTTP proxy server—Select the check box to route your data via your selected proxy server.

    Verify—Click the button to test your proxy server configuration.

Bandwidth Limiting

You can limit how much of your Internet bandwidth is used to ensure that bandwidth is available for other applications.  You can change these settings without interrupting transfers in progress.

  • Upload Bandwidth:
     
    Limit upload bandwidth to—Select an upload bandwidth limit (10 kbps is the minimum setting).
     
    Enforce this limit—Select whether to enforce bandwidth limitation at all times or only during your selected times.
  • Download Bandwidth:
     
    Limit upload bandwidth to—Select a download bandwidth limit (10 kbps is the minimum setting).
     
    Enforce this limit—You have the option to enforce bandwidth limitation at all times or only during your selected times.

Online Disk

Online Disks contain the data that is stored via the Automatic Backup feature. If you decide that you do not need access to the selected online disk, you can remove it from the configuration by clicking the Disconnect Online Disk button. This does not delete the online disk or data within it, it simply "disconnects" the online disk from the application.

To delete an online disk and all of the data within it, type the applicable confirmation text in the confirmation field and click the Delete this online disk and files button.

Note: Deleted online disks and files cannot be recovered.

Encryption

The Jungle Disk Server Edition encrypts all network traffic to our cloud storage providers automatically.  As an added level of security, you can choose to store your files in an encrypted format on the servers as well.  Your files are encrypted before they are uploaded and can only be decrypted using your private online disk password.

WARNING: Do not lose or forget your password.  If you do, you will not be able to access your files, and the files cannot be recovered.

Encryption has been simplified to an online disk password.  To enable encryption for the selected online disk, choose a password that is difficult for others to guess.    Again, do not lose or forget this password as your files cannot be retrieved without the bucket password.

Once you have enabled encryption, you can opt to change the online disk password or remove encryption all together.  It is important to note that if you disable encryption, any new files that you upload will not be stored in an encrypted format. Any existing encrypted files will still remain encrypted; however, the encryption key will be stored along with the files so they can be accessed without your online disk password in the future.

Backup Vaults

Backup Vaults are storage containers within an online disk where your backup data resides for a single computer.  A Backup Vault allows for block-level data de-duplication within and across multiple files and versions of files as well as compression for all data, which means greatly improved backup speeds and less total data stored.

  • A single account can have multiple Online Disks (which may be at different cloud providers), and each Online Disk can have multiple Backup Vaults (multiple computers backing up into the same Online Disk).
  • Only a single server can backup into a specific Backup Vault—each server you are backing up needs its own Backup Vault. However, if you replace a server, you can "take over" the old computer’s Backup Vault to avoid having to re‐upload any data that was already backed up.
  • You can Restore from any Backup Vault, even one being used by a different server.